Latest News from the BBC:

Edinburgh Bowls - Top Ten Draw


New - WEBA 2018

New - Bowls Scotland District 15



John Summers - Download

Thinking about Bowls


New - Edinburgh Bowling League


WOL Ladies 2018



WOL Seniors 2018



Balerno Bowling Club

Charlie Copy (Published in the Currie & Balerno News)





Our Annual General Meeting was held on 25 January. To my relief, it was a relatively tame affair. That may have been through the apathy of members but I prefer to think they were generally content with the way the Club has been run. Certainly I was able to report that thanks to our marvellous Committee we had had a successful year. The Committee and a small corps of others who step in to help when needed are ‘simply the best’!
In a moment of collective madness, the meeting granted me a second year as President. Thankfully, almost all of the Committee agreed to stand again and were re-appointed. A possible surprise was the appointment of Ross Young as Vice President. Former Vice President Brian Ronald had always made it known he would not succeed me as President. I was delighted therefore when Ross made his interest known and I am grateful to Brian for graciously standing down and for staying on the Committee. Ross and his family have had a long association with the Club and it’s probably fair to say that as a boy and man he has made his fair share of what older members might see as mistakes. He has a great sense of fun and can be a gregarious extrovert (to the point of being outrageous!). However, there is no doubting his commitment to the Club and he has the enthusiasm, energy and application to take it forward. I am sure his year as Vice President and Match Secretary will provide a ‘testing ground’ to show he has the ‘grown up’ qualities to take over as President.
The quartet of Office Bearers was completed with the appointment of Past President and Honorary Member Bill Stark as Treasurer and of Mike Spooner as Secretary.  Others on the Committee are Past President Ron Duguid (Social Secretary), Sandra Duguid, Sharon Grieve, Tom McDonald (Property Convenor), Morag Moffat (current Ladies Section Rep); Robin Murdoch and Past President Hugh Watt. Limitations of space prevent me extolling the virtues of each and everyone of the Committee – an easy task – but the incidence of Past Presidents and lack of new appointees highlight how much the Club is reliant on a small core of dedicated members willing to give up their time and energy to see it flourish.
Finally, I would like to pay tribute to Sharon Grieve who handled the role of Treasurer so well while holding down a full time, demanding job and to Elizabeth (Liz) Rogers who despite my pleas has decided to stand down from the Committee. Her expertise and sound advice will be sadly missed.
And so to business………….

Club President




Bavelaw Garage

We carry out all types of general repairs large or small and servicing to all makes and models of cars and light vans at very competitive prices, so why not try us first? we are sure you will be very surprised at the keen prices that we quote you, and the quality of the work which we carry out every time and on time.


To book any repairs direct with us on line

click Here or visit the website.
Phone 0131 449 7450

Cockburn Farm


EH14 7JB


© j fairley